Virat Kholi Khel Ratna Award

Virat Kohli


The Government of India, on Tuesday (September 25), presented India Men’s chief Virat Kohli with the esteemed Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, while regarding the India Women’s T20 Vice- Captain Smriti Mandhana with the Arjuna Award. Kohli is just the third Indian cricketer to be granted the most amazing brandishing honor in the nation while Mandhana is the tenth lady cricketer to win the Arjuna award.

Virat Kohli Khel Ratna Award

Kohli has been in imperious touch for a lengthened stretch of time with his latest endeavors as a batsman going to the fore amid the as of late closed England visit, where he completed with 593 keeps running in five Tests, including two hundreds and three fifties. Kohli’s count of 58 universal hundreds has just observed him break into the best five record-breaking centurions over all configurations. The 29-year-old is at present positioned one on both ODI and Test list.

“The Khel Ratna grant is amazingly, one more plume in Virat Kohli’s top. He was named the ICC Player of the Year in 2017, he cleared the BCCI grants and has now been met with the most amazing brandishing grant, which is really a striking accomplishment. His crave runs is unquenchable and I am certain under his authority, the Indian group will be a best positioned side in each of the three arrangements,” BCCI acting privileged secretary, Amitabh Choudhary, said.

“We are glad that Virat Kohli and Smriti Mandhana are being consulted with top respects by the Government of India. Virat is only the third Indian cricketer to get the renowned Khel Ratna grant. This is a declaration to his hard working attitude, commitment and immovable core interest. He has driven India with unique excellence and in the meantime, set new records with the bat. Playing distinctive configurations of the amusement, Virat has demonstrated stunning consistency driving the side by precedent. This Indian group is one of the fittest sides in world cricket and a considerable measure of credit must go to the Indian chief for realizing this change,” Vinod Rai, Chairman of the Committee of Administrators, said.

Mandhana too has been in secure shape since the last of the 2017 World Cup in England where she was scandalously rejected for a duck. From that point forward however, she has scored the most number of keeps running for an Indian player crosswise over the two configurations of the diversion. Furthermore, playing for Western Storm at the Kia Super League in England, she amassed 421 runs – the most noteworthy total over any period of the KSL or WBBL – at a blockbuster strike-rate of 175, to end up the principal ever Indian cricketer to win the player of the competition grant.

“I am extremely upbeat to see Smriti get the honor at such a youthful age. She has scored a very long time in Australia, England, South Africa and demonstrated that she flourishes in troublesome conditions,” Diana Edulji, individual from the CoA, said. “I am certain this honor will push more individuals to observe the advancement the Indian Women’s group is making. Young ladies playing cricket copy the stars and Smriti is setting a fine precedent both on and off the field.”

The Khel Ratna Awarded are Sachin Tendulkar – 1997 and MS Dhoni – 2007,
while the other ladies cricketers to have been recompense with the Arjuna award are
1. Shantha Rangaswamy Diana Edulji – 1983
2. Shubhangi Kulkarni – 1985
3. Sandhya Agarwal – 1986
4. Mithali Raj – 2003
5. Anju Jain – 2005
6. Anjum Chopra – 2006
7. Jhulan Goswami – 2010
8. Harmanpreet Kaur – 2017

Mrs. Anushka Sharma, Mother Saroj Kohli, Virat Kholi Brother attended the KHEL Ratna Award Ceremony at Rastrapathi Bhavan.

Anushka Sharma


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *